The Premier grade is the pinnacle grade of senior cricket in the CMCA competition and they play all three forms of cricket being Twenty20, One Day cricket and Two Day cricket. Premier cricket is played predominantly on turf wickets throughout the One Day and Two Day competitions. The Twenty20 competition is always played on artificial wickets.

In the 2014/2015 season our premier team won the one day competition and therefore were eligible to compete to be the top Club team in the Northern Districts region. Winning all Norther Districts qualifying games the Premiers competed in the New Zealand National Club Championship played at Cornwall Park. This completion included the top Club team from all six provinces that make up New Zealand Cricket. Unfortunately, the Premiers were unable to continue their winning ways in the Nation Club Championships however this was the first time in the Clubs history to field a team in this prestigious competition and the Premier side should be proud of this historic achievement.

There are six teams in the Premier competitions being Manukau City Cricket Club, Papakura Cricket Club, United Cricket Club, Karaka Cricket club, Pukekohe Metro Cricket Club and Waiuku Cricket Club.

Twenty20 cricket is played over the first four weeks of the season where teams play two games each Saturday. These games are all played on artificial wickets at Bruce Pulman Park in Papakura. The six teams compete for the Inder Lynch Trophy in Twenty20 cricket.

One Day cricket is played over innings of 50 overs per side. One Day cricket is still played with a red cricket ball so limited amount of coloured clothing is allowed. The usual field restrictions including power plays are all part of the standard playing conditions for One Day cricket. The six teams compete for the Duthie Cup in One Day cricket.

Two Day cricket is played over consecutive Saturdays, however sometimes this can fall on a Saturday and Sunday of the same weekend. The first innings is limited to a maximum of 70 overs per side with unlimited overs in the second innings. There is no bowling or fielding restrictions applied. Teams also play for batting and bowling bonus points in the first innings only. The six teams compete for the W H Taylor Shield.

The Premier competition also has a trophy for the overall team winner. Teams are awarded points based on their finishing in each competition with the team on the most points after the conclusion of all competitions is awarded the Warin Cup.

The Premier squad this season is; Ashwyn Herwels ©, Jono Hickey, Tamati Clarke, Nick Kelly, Dion Joll, Troy Joll, Brendon Read, Jarrod Halliday, Shalen Singh, Scott Allison, Ram Tirth, Le Shur Vermeulen, Tristan Payle, and Sandeep Patel.

  • Lonely Yak
  • Kukri
  • South Auckland Motors
  • Pub Charity
  • Cricket Express
©2022 Manukau City Cricket Club | Web Design by Lonely Yak